paris-night-sky-france-cityWorking in France

 

Your biggest hurdle to finding work in France may be your lack of a work visa if you are not an EU citizen. See the US Embassy in France Guide for US Citizens Living in France:
http://france.usembassy.gov/living_in_france.html and click on Employment in France.

And here is the commentary about employment on the Embassy of France in Washington site:
http://www.ambafrance-us.org/spip.php?rubrique103

If you do not have EU nationality, then you would have to find an employer who would be willing to obtain a work visa for you.
Another possibility: The French Ministry of Education offers teaching assistantships to US citizens. Several Wellesley alumnae have participated in this program.For info, see
http://www.ambafrance-us.org/spip.php?article375

For more information, you may also contact the following alumnae with questions regarding the program in general, and their experiences more specifically:
Yuri Cartier (2005) - ycartier@gmail.com
Véronique Khérian (née Chau) (2005) - veronique.chau@gmail.com
Caitlin Cahill (2006) - caitlin.a.cahill@gmail.com
Maggie Siebens (2009) -  m.i.siebens@gmail.com
Esther Hugenberger (2010) - ehugenbe@gmail.com
Cara McGarian (2010) - cmcgarian@gmail.com
Orly Reine Sibony (2010) -  orlyreine@gmail.com
Glenna Moran (2011) - glenna.moran@gmail.com
Tiffany Pyen (2011) - teafunny189@gmail.com
Kathy Zhang (2011) - kzhang@alum.wellesley.edu
Tips from Lisa Fleury '83, lifleury@wanadoo.fr:


Beyond the Bac - Higher Education in France & Abroad has a lot of information on the French higher education system and different types of programs (medical and law studies; university masters and specialized masters at Grandes Ecoles, for instance.)  To order the book, see http://aaweparis.org/pages/publications.html
See the website of Campus France, the French national agency for the promotion of higher education, international student services, and international mobility: http://www.campusfrance.org/en Campus France handles student visas to France.